Transitionary Period

1. Summer has ended, which means one of our roommates is leaving. Beth was only here for a summer internship at a tech company in Seattle, and now she goes back to school for one quarter, before she gets married and moves back to Kirkland with Tim! We can’t afford to pay rent without a 4th person at this point, so we put an ad on Craigslist searching for a roommate. We could have asked Darrell to lower the rent back to what it was before, but they really need the money, and we don’t mind a full house anyway. Beth moves out on Monday. Her bed, however, is being taken away today, so it’s a good thing Kelle is gone until Monday, so Beth can just use her bed.

2. Kelle (my 20-year-old cousin and 3rd roommate, Kurt and I being the first two) was in Australia for a month, visiting her boyfriend, then, upon returning to our house, immediately went to Yakima to visit her family and friends. Before she returned, we were under the impression that she only had savings to last through September and if she didn’t get a job by mid-September, she wouldn’t be able to pay for October and we’d have to find someone to replace her too. Turns out, she has savings to last through October. So the tentative availability of her room has moved up a month, provided she does not require a new job by mid-October. She says she has some prospects. She also said she has a drug test for Fred Meyer on Tuesday, so maybe that means she got a job? Probably.

3. Three people responded to Kurt’s Craigslist ad. We replied to everyone, and two of them ended up following up with us. Kevin, an energetic and passionate fellow Whovian, will be taking Beth’s room, and Oznur, a lovely Turkish woman from Boston, will be staying with us for a week while she searches for jobs and housing in the area. She only got here on Thursday, and she’s already found a part-time job at a bookstore and made a Turkish friend, who is showing her around today! She’s on the air mattress the whole week. No one needs the couch! yay! Kevin moves in on Tuesday, and I’m actually really excited to have another Whovian in the house.

4. Also on Tuesday, my dad will be here to take me on a daddy-daughter date. It has been a while since we did that! Probably last fall, when he took me to the fair as a surprise! I’m really looking forward to our time together. Must remember to give him Eli’s sunglasses, which he apparently left here on my birthday.

So much moving around! So many changes and shifts in people who are here! And, AND, AND! One of my coworkers told me yesterday that the morning Ready To Wear (women’s clothes) person is leaving us and I should apply for her position, which is full-time! On the plus side, more hours and more time to hang out with people in the evenings. On the downside, I might have to work at 5 in the morning, which would leave me too tired to hang out with people in the evening, and who wants to get up at 5 am anyway? No one… I’m contemplating it. More money is always good.

What are some changes in your life?

One thought on “Transitionary Period

  1. Oooh all that sounds awesome!! I feel like everything’s changing for me right now. I started this school year more confident than I was last year. All of a sudden I have a bunch of nice guys around that would be potentially decent people to date, obviously just one not all of them. I just finished a half marathon when I used to hate all running a few years back. I feel like I’m at an age where everything just kind of changes all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

