I’ve been thinking about fashion trends lately and it has come to my attention that there are some trends that are not super popular with some very loudmouthy people out there. I looked up some “fashion trends men don’t like” blog posts for reference, and found so many trends that I actually like, which made me think, ‘Who cares what men (or anyone else, for that matter) think? If I like something, I’ll wear it. I don’t care if it’s “so 20 years ago” or men don’t think I look sexy in it. For one, I’m married, and for two, I don’t dress for anyone but myself (and my work dress code). So without further ado, seven arbitrarily picked fashion trends that have received some flack but I love anyway. 

1. Overall shorts

miley-cyrus-overalls-e1405899496516

Check out Miley! She looks so comfy and carefree in her overall shorts! Source: denimblog.com

I know it’s totally 90’s, but I’m actually digging some of the 90’s styles that are coming back. When I first saw these hanging up at Fred Meyer (like Walmart, but better, if you don’t know Fred Meyer) two months ago, I got so excited. I didn’t want to spend $40 on them though, so I am still looking. I swear I will get a pair for next summer as soon as I can find one that fits at a thrift store. 

2. High-Waisted Shorts/Skirts

taylor-swift-style-gorman-triangle-sweater-cooperative-high-waisted-shorts-frye-pups-ray-ban-wayfarer-sunglasses

Taylor Swift looking sleek! Source: thetrenddiaires.com

So fifties! I am digging the retro vibes that are invading current fashion! I should note that there is a wrong way to wear these, and it’s when your butt cheeks are hanging out. That’s too short. Otherwise, I love how the top hits the smallest part of your waist and gives you curves that may not have been accentuated in shorts that come up to your hips.

3. Menswear

janelle_monae_chanel_black_and

Janelle Monae is the perfect example of someone who OWNS menswear! Source: posh24.com

I love, love, love, the tailored, menswear-inspired outfits that so many women are trying out these days! Maybe it started a while ago, but it doesn’t look like it’s dying out any time soon. I have several jackets that have military-inspired elements, and that counts as femme menswear, right? I just think it’s so bold and powerful-looking. 🙂

4. Cargo Shorts

bff00df42145f813_Diane-Kruger-2

You go, Diane Kruger! Source: fabsugar.com

Kurt loves me in cargo shorts. He thinks they’re the sexiest thing, for some reason. I like them because they’re comfy and I don’t care who knows it. So functional and ready for anything! So what if I look like I’m about to go on a safari or work in my garden? What’s wrong with safari’s and gardening? Nothing! I think I look cool!

5. Mixing Patterns

PIX11 Morning Guests

Whitney Port rocking fabulous polka dots and floral! Source: imnotobsessed.com

This is more of an outdated fashion faux pas that was in style in the 90’s and is coming back now. I love it. I tried it for work and felt really young and fresh, but not childish. There’s a sense of empowerment, I think, that comes with taking what feels like a risk with your clothing choices and finding out no one actually cares (at least not the people who matter). People will probably compliment you if they say anything at all! There’s absolutely no reason not to wear different patterns together if you think it looks fun. Who makes these rules anyway? What will happen? Nothing.

6. Cropped Pants

Chrissy-Teigen-Black-White-Old-Navy-Pants

Chrissy Teigen looking ready to pilot a yacht because she’s awesome. Source: fabusugar.com

I think cropped pants are great. Longer than capris, shorter than regular skinnies, cropped pants, in any pattern or material, are cool enough for warm days and professional enough for the office. Great with any kind of shoes, too! 

7. Shorts With Stockings

shorts-over-tights

Leighton Meester ruling as Queen B on Gossip Girl. Source: panacheoffblast.com

My own personal rule of thumb when it comes to fashion trends is ‘If the main characters wore it on Gossip Girl, I can wear it too.’ You want to be the Queen B of your own world? Do it! You don’t have to be rich or backstabbing. In fact, don’t be a backstabber. Just be fabulous! You want to wear your favorite shorts but don’t like how your bare legs look right now? You like the contrast between the colors of your tights and your shorts? Go for it, because unless you are in a place with a dress code, like high school or a professional setting, you have free reign. The people who matter don’t care and the people who care don’t matter.  

What oft-ridiculed fashion trends are you loving right now? Leave a comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

