I really need to eat healthier. I eat a lot of starches and grains, hardly any vegetables, some fruits, and lots of meat. Lots of junk food too. But mostly grains and meats. It all seems very counter-intuitive when I want to be in the best shape I can possibly be, inside and out. I have formed the habit of going for a jog most days of the week, taking my vitamins everyday, making a fruit smoothie most days.

But today, I realized that I had smoked salmon in the freezer because my friend Caitlin brought me some last time she came over, and I rejoiced for all of the nutrients I’d soon be consuming. It’s really good with whipped cream cheese. I never buy fish because ground beef and chicken are cheaper, but I always yearn for the vitamins and nutrients that fish provides. The iron that I need to donate blood. The energy and brain activity that would help me focus better. Every time I go to a fancy restaurant that Kurt and I don’t have to pay for (it happens), I get salmon. Or shrimp. But usually salmon. You know, it’s funny that I’m all over seafood now. As a kid, the only seafood I’d eat was fish sticks, and that hardly counts. Well, and tuna fish sandwiches. But I still claimed that I hated seafood. I guess I just didn’t like the fishy smell of the ocean, therefore I wouldn’t like fish in their natural state. It made sense at the time.

Turns out, I love seafood. I still haven’t tried clams because I can’t get past the idea of how slimy they are, but I did have a spoonful of Kurt’s clam chowder once, and it was good. Once. But other than that, not much is off the table. Once I had tried cedar-planked salmon at McCormick and Schmick’s in Kansas City on my 21st birthday, I was hooked.

Image

 

Image

Where it all started.

That salmon, salty and savory and sweet, crispy and tender and juicy, full of flavor and happiness, opened up a whole new world of possibilities. Lobster, crab, shrimp, halibut, cod… I wanted everything. But not scallops. What even are they? I don’t know, but I don’t trust how they look. One day.

A goal I have is to one day live close enough to the coast and make enough money that we can eat fresh seafood everyday. *sigh* It’s a dream, but I don’t think it’s unattainable. I’m so close.

 

What do you like now that you didn’t when you were a kid?

3 thoughts on “One Reason I Belong In Seattle

  1. When I was a child I hated salad. I lived on peanut butter and jelly. Now, I love a crisp, cool Caesar salad.

  2. I made a seafood jambalaya the other day and added some clams to it. The flavour is so strong, I think they almost overpowered the dish completely. That was also the first time I’d ever deshelled clams before and I found them pretty gross (I’ve eaten them plenty of times, but just not like that). SO I don’t think it’s a required thing to enjoy (I love seafood, too, I should add) on its own. However, we did have some excellent mussels a couple of months ago. I thought they would be like clams but I found them to be pretty different in texture and flavour. I think if they’re cooked in the right sauce, they’re a winner. But I guess if you don’t like the sliminess, then those might not be too delicious to you either. đŸ™‚

    Also, I should add that we often buy fish/shrimp/etc. when it’s at the end of its sell date at the store and is 50% off. We typically eat a good amount of seafood throughout the year, but not much chicken or beef, and this is a good way for us to afford it. I just wrap it up with extra plastic wrap, or put it in a freezer bag, and put in the freezer till we’re ready to have it.

Leave a Reply

