Wonderful Wednesday: Staying Positive

This Monday, I got laid off from my nanny job.

It doesn’t matter why. It wasn’t anything terrible. Addison’s fine, and so am I. It just didn’t work out. The reality now is that Kurt and I have lost about 40% of our income source. So the job search is on. At first, I was bummed, but I knew I had to stay positive, or else there was no way I’d find another job. I thought, “At least now I have the time to look for an office job. I was wishing I could do that for a while but didn’t want to leave Addison. Problem solved, I guess.” Searching for office jobs turned out to be very daunting. Everyone still wants more experience than I have. Ugh.

Kurt was more bummed about it than I was by the time he got home from work (I had texted him immediately after leaving Diane’s house). I spoke very calmly and tried to encourage him to think positively. When we were first starting out in Kirkland, he was always like, “I’ll get a job in my field,” and “when I get a job in my field,” and I never bought it. I mean, it’s 8 months later and neither of us are working in our field. He’s still confident that he’ll get a job in his field by the end of the year, but he’s all bummed when I lose a job and say, “It’s okay, I’ll find another one!” Am I not allowed to be confident about the future? Maybe it’s just weird to him because I’ve never been very positive about the future before. Well, by golly, I will be now. I have to be.

Yesterday, I applied online at Fred Meyer, the same one Kurt works at. I selected “barista” as the desired position, though I fully intended to come today and give a resume to the manager at the jewelry counter. Kurt said they were hiring, and I would like to work at a jewelry counter. I hate the online application process. So tedious.

When I woke up this morning, I saw on my phone that I had a private message on Care.com, the same site through which I met Diane and Addison. A local daycare center needed a teacher for 4 infants. $10 an hour. 40 hours a week. I didn’t think much of it and went back to sleep because my stomach hurt. My stomach hurt because I was hungry, so that probably wasn’t the best idea. I finally got up at 11:30 and ate some food and started watching Angel. I checked my email. Thought about that message. Paused the episode and called the number. Couldn’t hurt to just respond, right? Within an hour, I was on my way to Hidden Treasures Learning Center to interview with the director. Tomorrow at 9:30, I have a working interview so she can see how I am with the babies. By next week, I could be earning $1600 a month with 2 weeks paid vacation, paid holidays. I could quit Victoria’s Secret because I will not need the money anymore. I’m getting tired of retail anyway.

So here’s to the future! If this door closes, I’ll just open another one. There’s plenty of jobs out there. I can still apply at Microsoft and Google for crying out loud! Why be negative about the future, when there are so many opportunities?

I just hope I can keep this up!

2 thoughts on “Wonderful Wednesday: Staying Positive

  1. Good luck at your interview! That would be a great opportunity. I hope you get it so you don’t have to go through the process of applications. It is certainly time consuming and tedious. I just started applying for teaching positions for next school year, and I know it is going to be a long process, but I’m trying to be positive and know I WILL get a teaching job, I just have to get through this rough part 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 Unfortunately, I ended up not getting it because she wanted someone with more experience with infants. I kind of expected that and totally understand. She did offer me a position that’s only 16 hours a week. It’s basically taking over for her so she can go home earlier and have a day off. But I need something more than that. I can’t really coordinate the hours she’d give me with Victoria’s Secret well enough to make the money I need. It’s okay though; I’m going to drop off that resume at Fred Meyer Jewelers today!

Leave a Reply

