I had never watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer until a few years ago. I am not ashamed. I grew up with five channels and none of them were the WB, okay? Not my fault. Kurt got me into it when we started dating, and fell in love. Buffy’s snark, confidence, insecurities, her struggle between living a normal life with normal girl issues and saving the world. Willow’s charmingly awkward eagerness to help her friends. Xander’s self-sacrificial love for his friends. I loved the bad puns and the tongue-in-cheek acknowledgement of “the world is constantly ending.” The added characters and story arcs over the seven seasons, not to mention the spinoff Angel (currently watching right now), only made the Buffyverse better and more amazing. As I learned more about Joss Whedon as a person and a writer, I began to love him and his universe all the more. Whedon is an unabashed feminist and incorporates his passions into everything he makes. He’s responsible for such things as Toy Story, Atlantis: The Lost Empire, Firefly, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Marvel’s The Avengers, and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 

Who is your favorite TV writer?

Leave a Reply

