Thrifting Thursday: My Wedding Dress

Image

 

I found my wedding dress at a thrift store called Ye Olde Lighthouse Shoppe in Yakima, WA, while just having a laugh with some girlfriends. I bought it when I was dating someone else, but not because I thought I was going to marry that person. Well, I did think I was going to marry that person, but that isn’t why I bought the dress. I bought it because it was (1) $20, (2) the only wedding dress out of the 3 stores we went to that even remotely seemed like something I would wear, and (3) did I mention twenty dollars??

Image

I only had to take it in a tiny bit around the zipper below the small of my back, just under the part where it’s all open-back and lacing. The lacing and the straps used to be what looked like shiny shoelaces, but I wouldn’t have that, so I bought some sheer, shiny ribbon and sewed it on. I didn’t think it would be strong enough to hold it up, but it did the job! Here’s a better picture of the straps and laces, all tied up at the bottom, covering the zipper.

Image

That was back when I thought I was going to marry the other person and so had sewn on a red ribbon for the red and black theme we’d thought up. Shut up. Kurt and I went with blue and purple, both of our favorite colors, so I took off the ribbon. I loved how simple my dress was and how easy it was to wear and walk in. And because it was so cheap, I don’t feel weird about getting it dirty by taking 365 project shots like this one:

Image

 

Would you/did you thrift your wedding attire?

2 thoughts on “Thrifting Thursday: My Wedding Dress

Leave a Reply

