Budget (noun):

1. chiefly dialect :  a usually leather pouch, wallet, or pack; also:  its contents
3. a quantity (as of energy or water) involved in, available for, or assignable to a particular situation; also :  an account of gains and losses of such a quantity <the global carbon budget>
4 .a.  a statement of the financial position of an administration for a definite period of time based on estimates of expenditures during the period and proposals for financing them
 b.  a plan for the coordination of resources and expenditures
 c.  the amount of money that is available for, required for, or assigned to a particular purpose
 
Budget (verb):
1. a.  to put or allow for in a budget

 b. to require to adhere to a budget
2. a.  to allocate funds for in a budget <budget a new hospital>
b.  to plan or provide for the use of in detail <budgeting man power>
 
Budgeting is not something I used to do, but now that Kurt and I are completely on our own and just starting to not struggle anymore, budgeting has become a neurotic habit of mine. Whenever I’m stressed about money, I de-stress by going through my day planner and calculating each paycheck as they get closer, marking on each payday exactly how much I will tentatively be getting. I like knowing if I can survive or not. And right now, we can. In fact, things are getting better! Kurt got a job at Fred Meyer after quitting at Teavana and is getting tons of hours, and I have quit at Gymboree and extended my hours at Victoria’s Secret and am in turn getting more hours as well! Add that to my nannying job and you’ve got a sweet deal. With student loans, however, we still have to watch our spending everyday. We don’t go out to eat very often, and we haven’t gone to see a movie in ages. I rarely go dancing. We make sure we are aware of how much money we have at any given time and that we have enough to last us until the next bill can be paid. I guess what we do is less budgeting and more planning. We write our work schedules (and Kelle writes hers) on the same calendar, so we have a visual idea of how tight (or not) money will be in the next month.
 
A few months ago, we planned out an estimate of how much each paycheck would be, listed the dates for each paycheck, along with the dates of each bill, for the next two months. We added and subtracted everything until we came to the conclusion that we would survive as long as we didn’t spend money that we didn’t need to. And now we’re over budget because back, we hadn’t anticipated Kurt’s Fred Meyer job! He’s also started tutoring on Tutor.com! If things keep improving like this, soon we’ll be able to pay off my student loans in less than 10 years and eliminate our credit card debt in only a few months! 
Image
I realize that I did forget to carry a 1 in this picture. Ignore it. It was pointed out to me and I fixed my math, so don’t worry.
 
How neurotic are you about your budget?
2 thoughts on “Webster’s Wednesday: Budget

  1. I Typically sart out every month with a budget plan. By the middle of the month though Ive usually lost track.lol. But some how it works out every month. 😉 I still have some work to do on my budgeting skills.

Leave a Reply

